Peru regions and provinces

Peru, a country on the western edge of South America, is a land of ancient civilizations, diverse landscapes, and rich cultural heritage. It is divided into 26 regions and one constitutional province, each offering unique attractions and contributing to the nation’s vibrant tapestry. In this comprehensive overview, we will delve into the provinces, their capitals, and the distinctive features that make Peru a captivating destination.

1. Amazonas

Capital Chachapoyas
Kuelap An ancient walled city built by the Chachapoya culture, often referred to as the “Machu Picchu of the North.”
Gocta Waterfall One of the tallest waterfalls in the world, surrounded by lush Amazonian vegetation.

2. Áncash

Capital Huaraz
Cordillera Blanca A stunning mountain range with numerous peaks over 6,000 meters, offering trekking and mountaineering opportunities.
Huascarán National Park Home to Huascarán, the highest peak in Peru, and diverse ecosystems.

3. Apurímac

Capital Abancay
Choquequirao Often referred to as the “sister city” of Machu Picchu, this Inca site is known for its terraces and archaeological significance.
Andean Landscapes Apurímac features diverse landscapes, from high-altitude plains to deep canyons.

4. Arequipa

Capital Arequipa
Historic Center of Arequipa A UNESCO World Heritage site, known for its colonial architecture built with white volcanic rock.
Colca Canyon One of the world’s deepest canyons, home to Andean condors and traditional villages.

5. Ayacucho

Capital Ayacucho
Wari Archaeological Complex An ancient city of the Wari civilization, showcasing pre-Inca urban planning and architecture.
Inti Raymi A traditional festival celebrating the Inca Sun God, held annually in Ayacucho.

6. Cajamarca

Capital Cajamarca
Cumbemayo A pre-Inca aqueduct system with unique rock formations and petroglyphs.
Battle of Cajamarca Site The location where Francisco Pizarro captured the Inca Emperor Atahualpa.

7. Callao

Constitutional Province
Capital Callao
Historic Centre of Callao Features colonial architecture, museums, and the Real Felipe Fortress.
El Callao District Known for its vibrant nightlife and seaside promenade.

8. Cusco

Capital Cusco
Machu Picchu A UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the New Seven Wonders of the World, Machu Picchu is an iconic Inca citadel.
Sacred Valley Home to numerous Inca ruins and traditional markets, offering a glimpse into Andean culture.

9. Huancavelica

Capital Huancavelica
Huaytará Known for its colonial church and the nearby Inca ruins of Huaytará.
Alto Piquimachay A high-altitude lake surrounded by Andean landscapes.

10. Huánuco

Capital Huánuco
Kotosh Archaeological Site One of the oldest archaeological sites in the Andes, featuring temple ruins.
Tingo María National Park Known for its diverse flora and fauna, including the iconic Sleeping Beauty mountain.

11. Ica

Capital Ica
Nazca Lines Enormous geoglyphs in the Nazca Desert, depicting various animals and shapes.
Huacachina An oasis town surrounded by sand dunes, popular for sandboarding and dune buggy rides.

12. Junín

Capital Huancayo
Huaytapallana A snowy mountain range with glacial lakes and hiking trails.
Ingenio Valley Known for its traditional Andean villages and agricultural terraces.

13. La Libertad

Capital Trujillo
Chan Chan The largest adobe city in the world, built by the Chimu civilization.
Huanchaco A coastal town famous for its traditional reed boats called caballitos de totora.

14. Lambayeque

Capital Chiclayo
Sipán Archaeological Site Known for the Lord of Sipán tomb, one of the most significant discoveries in Peruvian archaeology.
Túcume Archaeological Site A complex of pyramids and ancient structures.

15. Lima

Capital Lima
Historic Centre of Lima A UNESCO World Heritage site with colonial architecture, including the Plaza Mayor and Lima Cathedral.
Miraflores A trendy district with parks, shopping, and seaside cliffs offering panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean.

16. Loreto

Capital Iquitos
Amazon Rainforest Loreto is
the gateway to the vast Amazon Rainforest, home to diverse wildlife and indigenous communities.
Pacaya-Samiria National Reserve A protected area with extensive waterways and rich biodiversity.

17. Madre de Dios

Capital Puerto Maldonado
Tambopata National Reserve A biodiverse area in the Amazon Rainforest with macaws, monkeys, and diverse flora.
Manu National Park A UNESCO World Heritage site, known for its untouched wilderness and isolated indigenous tribes.

18. Moquegua

Capital Moquegua
Torata Known for its colonial church and pre-Inca archaeological sites.
Osmore River Valley A fertile valley with vineyards and agricultural terraces.

19. Pasco

Capital Cerro de Pasco
Yanahuanca A town known for its traditional architecture and the nearby Yanahuanca Lagoon.
Mining Heritage Pasco has a rich mining history, with Cerro de Pasco known for its historic mines.

20. Piura

Capital Piura
Máncora A popular beach destination known for its surf and vibrant nightlife.
Catacaos A town famous for its traditional crafts, including pottery and filigree jewelry.

21. Puno

Capital Puno
Lake Titicaca The highest navigable lake in the world, known for its floating islands and indigenous cultures.
Sillustani A pre-Inca burial ground with impressive funerary towers.

22. San Martín

Capital Moyobamba
Tarapoto Known as the “City of Palms,” Tarapoto is a gateway to the Amazon Rainforest with waterfalls and hot springs.
Cordillera Azul National Park A protected area with diverse ecosystems and wildlife.

23. Tacna

Capital Tacna
Arica-Parinacota Desert The region is part of the Atacama Desert, offering unique desert landscapes.
Tacna Cathedral A historic cathedral with colonial architecture in the city of Tacna.

24. Tumbes

Capital Tumbes
Manglares de Tumbes National Sanctuary A coastal sanctuary with mangrove forests and diverse bird species.
Zorritos A beach town known for its warm waters and seafood.

25. Ucayali

Capital Pucallpa
Yarinacocha A lake known for its traditional Shipibo communities and vibrant handcrafts.
Aguaytía A town surrounded by rainforest, offering opportunities for eco-tourism and wildlife observation.

26. Callao (Constitutional Province)

Capital Callao
(Callao is also listed separately as a constitutional province with its own capital)


Peru’s provinces and constitutional province, along with their respective capitals, collectively form a nation rich in history, culture, and natural beauty. From the ancient wonders of Machu Picchu and the Nazca Lines to the diverse ecosystems of the Amazon Rainforest and Lake Titicaca, each region contributes to Peru’s identity. The vibrant cities of Lima, Cusco, and Trujillo showcase a blend of colonial and contemporary influences, while remote areas like Loreto and Ucayali offer a glimpse into the pristine wilderness of the Amazon. Whether exploring the high Andes, the coastal deserts, or the dense jungles, Peru invites travelers on a journey of discovery and appreciation for its multifaceted landscapes and cultural heritage. With a history shaped by ancient civilizations, colonial influences, and a dynamic present, Peru stands as a testament to the richness and diversity of South America.

More information and reviews:

.- Official page Peru regions and provinces Link here.
.- -Peru regions and provinces Link here.
.- – Peru regions and provinces Link here.
.- Feature Imagen by Canva Link here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top