Ecuador regions and provinces

Ecuador, located on the equator in the northwestern part of South America, is a country known for its diverse landscapes, rich biodiversity, and cultural heritage. It is divided into 24 provinces, each with its own unique features and attractions. In this comprehensive overview, we will explore the provinces, their capitals, and the distinctive highlights that make Ecuador a fascinating and multifaceted nation.

1. Azuay

Capital Cuenca
Cajas National Park A high-altitude park known for its glacial lakes and unique Andean ecosystems.
Cuenca’s Historic Center A UNESCO World Heritage site, featuring colonial architecture and the Tomebamba River.

2. Bolívar

Capital Guaranda
Chimborazo Volcano Ecuador’s highest peak, part of the Andes, with diverse ecosystems.
Guaranda The provincial capital known for its Carnival celebrations and cultural events.

3. Cañar

Capital Azogues
Ingapirca The largest Inca archaeological site in Ecuador, featuring a complex of ruins and a unique elliptical-shaped temple.
Azogues The provincial capital with historical churches and vibrant markets.

4. Carchi

Capital Tulcán
Tulcán Cemetery Famous for its elaborate topiary sculptures and well-maintained gardens.
El Ángel Ecological Reserve A high-altitude reserve known for its unique páramo ecosystems.

5. Chimborazo

Capital Riobamba
Chimborazo Volcano The highest point in Ecuador and the closest point to the sun due to the equatorial bulge.
Devil’s Nose Train A scenic train ride through the Andes, known for its steep descents.

6. Cotopaxi

Capital Latacunga
Cotopaxi National Park Home to the Cotopaxi Volcano, one of the world’s highest active volcanoes.
Latacunga The provincial capital with a colonial old town and traditional markets.

7. El Oro

Capital Machala
Gulf of Guayaquil El Oro has a coastline along the Gulf of Guayaquil, offering beaches and mangrove ecosystems.
Machala The provincial capital known for its agricultural production, especially bananas and shrimp.

8. Esmeraldas

Capital Esmeraldas
Muisne A coastal town with beautiful beaches and the Muisne Island.
Esmeraldas The provincial capital with a diverse Afro-Ecuadorian culture and lively Carnival celebrations.

9. Galápagos

Capital Puerto Baquerizo Moreno (on San Cristóbal Island)
Galápagos Islands A UNESCO World Heritage site, known for its unique and diverse wildlife, including giant tortoises, marine iguanas, and blue-footed boobies.
Charles Darwin Research Station Dedicated to the conservation of the Galápagos and scientific research.

10. Guayas

Capital Guayaquil
Malecón 2000 A vibrant waterfront area in Guayaquil with shops, restaurants, and gardens.
Santa Ana Hill A historic neighborhood with colorful houses and a lighthouse offering panoramic views.

11. Imbabura

Capital Ibarra
Otavalo Famous for its indigenous market, showcasing traditional crafts and textiles.
Cuicocha Lake A crater lake with scenic views and hiking opportunities.

12. Loja

Capital Loja
Podocarpus National Park Known for its cloud forests and diverse ecosystems.
Loja’s Historic Center Featuring colonial architecture and cultural events.

13. Los Ríos

Capital Babahoyo
Quevedo Known for its agricultural production, especially rice and African palm.
Babahoyo The provincial capital with a rich agricultural and cattle-raising tradition.

14. Manabí

Capital Portoviejo
Montecristi Known for its Panama hats, which are traditionally woven from toquilla straw.
Manta A coastal city with beaches, water sports, and the Manta Port.

15. Morona Santiago

Capital Macas
Sangay National Park Home to the active Sangay Volcano and diverse ecosystems.
Macas The provincial capital surrounded by lush Amazon rainforest.

16. Napo

Capital Tena
Amazon Rainforest Napo is part of the Amazon basin, offering opportunities for eco-tourism and wildlife observation.
Tena Known as the “Cinnamon Capital,” Tena is a gateway to the Amazon and the Andes.

17. Orellana

Capital Puerto Francisco de Orellana (Coca)
Yasuní National Park A UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, known for its incredible biodiversity and indigenous communities.
Coca The provincial capital located at the confluence of the Napo and Coca rivers.

18. Pastaza

Capital Puyo
Puyo The provincial capital and a gateway to the Amazon, offering access to the jungle and indigenous communities.
Pailón del Diablo A stunning waterfall in the Amazon rainforest.

19. Pichincha

Capital Quito
Quito The capital of Ecuador, known for its well-preserved historic center and cultural richness.
TelefériQo A cable car that takes visitors to the top of the Pichincha Volcano, offering panoramic views.

20. Santa Elena

Capital Santa Elena
Salinas A popular beach destination known for its vibrant nightlife and water sports.
Ballenita A coastal town with beautiful beaches and seafood restaurants.

21. Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas

Capital Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo The provincial capital known for its agricultural production, especially cocoa and tropical fruits.
Los Tsáchilas Indigenous People An indigenous group with a unique cultural identity.

22. Sucumbíos

Capital Nueva Loja
Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve A protected area in the Amazon rainforest with diverse flora and fauna.
Nueva Loja The provincial capital and an oil-producing hub in the Amazon region.

23. Tungurahua

Capital Ambato
Baños A popular tourist town known for its hot springs, waterfalls, and adventure activities.
Ambato The provincial capital with a vibrant Carnival celebration.

24. Zamora-Chinchipe

Capital Zamora
Podocarpus National Park Home to diverse ecosystems, including cloud forests and páramo.
Zamora The provincial capital surrounded by mountains and known for its biodiversity.


Ecuador, with its 24 provinces, presents a kaleidoscope of natural beauty, cultural richness, and diverse ecosystems. From the highlands of the Andes to the lush Amazon rainforest and the enchanting Galápagos Islands, each province contributes to the country’s unique identity. The colonial charm of Cuenca, the biodiversity of the Yasuní National Park, the indigenous markets of Otavalo, and the historic streets of Quito collectively showcase Ecuador’s multifaceted appeal.
As Ecuador continues to embrace its past, protect its natural treasures, and celebrate its cultural diversity, the provinces and their capitals play a vital role in shaping the nation’s narrative. Whether exploring the biodiversity of the Amazon, experiencing the unique wildlife of the Galápagos, or immersing oneself in the cultural tapestry of the Andean highlands, Ecuador invites travelers on a journey of discovery and appreciation for its rich heritage and stunning landscapes.

More information and reviews:

.- Official page Ecuador regions and provinces Link here.
.- -Ecuador regions and provinces Link here.
.- – Ecuador regions and provinces Link here.
.- Feature Imagen by Canva Link here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top